Why we monitor snow cover—and what does it have to do with our climate?

Snow is an important component of the hydrological cycle. Snow cover is defined as the area of land covered by accumulated snow. It regulates the Earth’s temperature; like a cool pack and a blanket at once.

While snow is there, it reflects the sun’s radiation back into the atmosphere, thereby keeping the Earth cool. Additionally, it covers the ground below, keeps it moist and warm for organisms. Furthermore it delays the melting of permafrost, effectively preventing the release of sequestered carbon and fueling of the greenhouse effect.

Once snow melts, it fills rivers and lakes in valleys and basins. It is an important water supply for people. Changes in snow cover have significant effects on our environment and ecosystems. On average, 45 Mio. km2 of the Earth’s surface are periodically covered by snow. Knowing the accurate snow extent is key for climate studies, weather forecasting, reservoir management, electric power production and winter tourism. Mapping snow extent is important.

State-of-the Art

The derivation of snow extent from medium resolution optical satellite data is the state-of-the-art. It allows for a timely coverage of large areas. While various methods for snow mapping exist, all of them suffer from gaps due to clouds or sensor capacity. These gaps degrade the quality and usefulness of the products.

Especially in the melting period, with high temporal and spatial variability in snow extent, cloud-cleaned products are of high interest for hydrology and water management.

Satellite image (Sentinel-2), Austrian Alps

Innovation

In this project, Catalysts exploits the novel Copernicus Sentinel-3 mission with its SLSTR and OLCI instruments for snow mapping. Sentinel-3 data acquisition is designed to work very well in continuation of recent ENVISAT AATSR and MERIS missions, as well as NASA’s MODIS instrument, which have previously been used for the creation of snow products.

Based on the Sentinel-3 data and the inclusion of additional meteorological data, we will continuously generate cloud-cleared maps of snow cover without observation gaps. Demonstration products will be made available stepwise for the Alpine region, the pan-European continent and the northern hemisphere.

Snow coverage of Mittersill, 01.03.2012 to 31.05.2012

This project is carried out in a partnership of Catalysts and ENVEO and is funded by the European Space Agency (ESA).

Logo of Catalysts
Logo of ENVEO
Logo of ESA

Satellite data processing belongs to our field of expertise

  • Are you an environmental scientist?
  • Or a climate enthusiast?
  • Or would you simply like to know, where the conditions are best for your next ski hiking tour?

Feel free to contact us. We are always looking for new challenges.

Your contact person

Michael Aspetsberger

High Performance Computing

michael.aspetsberger@catalysts.cc

Profile on Skype

Share this page:
Did you like this project? Sign up and receive more news:

Other projects

Menu

Warum wir die Schneebedeckung überwachen – und was hat das mit unserem Klima zu tun?

Schnee ist eine wichtige Komponente des Wasserkreislaufs. Als schneebedeckt gilt jene Landfläche, die von angesammelten Schnee bedeckt wird. Die Schneedecke reguliert die Temperatur der Erde; wie eine Kühlpackung und Decke zugleich.

Wo Schnee vorhanden ist, reflektiert er die Sonnenstrahlung zurück in die Atmosphäre und kühlt dadurch die Erde. Zusätzlich bedeckt er den Boden darunter und hält ihn feucht und warm für Organismen.

Sobald Schnee schmilzt, füllt er Flüsse und Seen in Tälern und Becken. Somit ist er ein wichtiger Wasserlieferant für die Bevölkerung. Veränderungen in der Schneebedeckung haben erhebliche Auswirkungen auf unsere Umwelt und das Ecosystem. Durchschnittlich sind 45 Mio km2 der Erdoberfläche in regelmäßigen Abständen mit Schnee bedeckt. Das genaue Ausmaß der Bedeckung zu kennen, ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für Klimastudien, Wettervorhersagen, Speichermanagement, Stromerzeugung und Wintertourismus. Die Vermessung der Schneebedeckung ist wichtig.

Stand der Technik

Die Ableitung der Schneebedeckung von optischen Satellitendaten mittlerer Auflösung ist heute Stand der Technik. Damit wird eine zeitgerechte Abdeckung über große Gebiete erreicht. Es existieren verschiedene Methoden für die Vermessung von Schnee, doch sie alle produzieren Lücken, die durch Wolken und die Kapazität der Sensoren verursacht werden. Diese Lücken verringern die Qualität und damit die Brauchbarkeit der Produkte.

Vor allem in der Schmelzzeit, die eine hohe zeitliche und räumliche Schwankung der Schneebedeckung mit sich bringt, sind wolkenfrei Produkte von hoher Wichtigkeit für Hydrologie und Wassermanagement.

Satellite image (Sentinel-2), Austrian Alps

Innovation

In diesem Projekt nutzt Catalysts die neue Copernicus Sentinel-3 Mission mit ihren SLSTR und OLCI Instrumenten zur Schneevermessung. Die Erfassung von Sentinel-3 Daten ist so konzipiert, dass sowohl die Daten der ENVISAT AATSR und MERIS Missionen, als auch die des NASA MODIS Instrumentes weiterverwendet werden können.

Basierend auf den Sentinel-3 Daten und der Einbindung von zusätzlichen meteorologischen Daten werden wir kontinuierlich wolkenfreie Karten der Schneebedeckung ohne Erfassungslücken generieren. Demoprodukte werden schrittweise für die Alpenregion, den pan-europäischen Kontinent und für die nördliche Hemisphäre zur Verfügung gestellt.

Snow coverage of Mittersill, 01.03.2012 to 31.05.2012

Diese Projekt wird in einer Partnerschaft von Catalysts und ENVEO ausgeführt und von der European Space Agency (ESA) finanziert.

Logo of Catalysts
Logo of ENVEO
Logo of ESA

Die Verarbeitung von Satellitendaten gehört zu unseren Kernkompetenzen

  • Bist du UmweltwissenschaftlerIn?
  • Oder Klima-EnthusiastIn?
  • Oder möchtest du ganz einfach nur wissen, wo die besten Bedingungen für deinen nächsten Skiurlaub herrschen?

Feel free to contact us. We are always looking for new challenges.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Michael Aspetsberger

High Performance Computing

michael.aspetsberger@catalysts.cc

Profile on Skype

Diese Seite teilen:
Gefällt Ihnen dieses Projekt? Erhalten Sie weitere News darüber:

Andere Projekte

Menü