In collaboration with the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria and the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute, Catalysts developed a method to analyze blood platelets in real time by using cell microscopy to classify platelets according to their state of activation. For the first time Thrombotherm allows to analyse the function of thrombocytes (= platelets) quickly, without provocation and enables institutes to evaluate the actual condition of stored blood, that currently has to be  disposed after a certain time without cross checking its actual quality.

Catalysts developed a software-plugin that seamlessly fits into the existing microscope technology of blood analysis institutes and represents an enormous expansion of diagnosis. We could finally bring our partner researchers to the market and revolutionize the diagnostic of thrombocytes by accelerating it significantly.

“Key-Features” von Thrombotherm:

1. Detect cell morphology

Thromotherm allows to mathematically detect and categorize cell borders with the help of by light microscopes. The software helps to distinguish between fried-egg shaped cells and spider shaped ones. This is the criteria to judge the quality on the fly.

2. Realtime Cluster technology

With the help of a fluorescence microscope recording, thromotherm can identify protein clusters considering their diffraction phenomenon. This allows for an additional quantitative real time representation of thrombocytes in a given sample.

3. Real time analysis of the receptor mobility

Thrombotherm can actually not only analyse still images but real image sequences. This allows to follow single molecules or even cell clusters in their motion sequence.
Pixel accuracy would not be enough in this case, so in order to receive exact values we are calculating with a point spread model.

With the help of this completely new method of analyzing thrombocytes, laboratories can identify the mobility of cells, the compression of surface area markers, the morphology of cells and their activation condition in real time, all by using their existing hardware!

Project outlook:

Next to the above mentioned use cases for blood analysis there are a whole lot of new opportunities opening up:

  • Classification of native cells
  • Research of pharmaceuticals on blood cells
  • Detection of cancerous cells

Why aren’t you using Catalysts expertise in the research sector?

  • We have years of project experience with partners from the research sector.
  • We are the most important custom software developer in Upper Austria with international references.
  • We are working agile and like test-driven development in teams of the brightest minds.
  • We are accelerating processes and love challenges.
  • Develop cutting-edge algorithms with us in your specific research domain.

Thrombotherm presentation (DE)
Digital MedTech (AEC Linz) 2016-10-13

Your contact person

Andreas Hangler

Software Developer

+43 680 2437252

andreas.hangler@catalysts.cc

Profile on Skype

Share this page:
Did you like this project? Sign up and receive more news:

Other projects

Menu

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Fachhochschule OÖ und dem Ludwig Boltzmann Institut entwickelt Catalysts eine Methode, Blutplättchen mit Hilfe von Zellmikroskopie in Echtzeit zu analysieren und nach ihrem Aktivierungszustand zu klassifizieren. Thrombotherm erlaubt damit erstmals, die Funktion der Thrombozyten (=Blutplättchen) rasch zu beurteilen und so zum Beispiel auf den tatsächlichen Zustand von Blutkonserven zu schließen, die nach bisherigem Stand der Technik  nach einer pauschal vorgegebenen Frist entsorgt werden müssten.

Das von Catalysts entwickelte Software-Plugin fügt sich nahtlos in die bestehenden Mikroskop-Technologie von Blutanalyse-Instituten ein und stellt eine enorme Erweiterung der Diagnostik dar. Damit konnten wir helfen, die Forschung unserer Partner auf den Markt zu bringen und im Bereich der Diagnostik von Thrombozyten eine signifikante Beschleunigung der Analyse vorantreiben.

“Key-Features” von Thrombotherm:

1. Zell-Morphologie in Echtzeit erkennen

Thrombotherm erlaubt es mathematisch die Zellgrenzen mittels Durchlicht-Mikroskop-Aufnahme zu bestimmen und zu kategorisieren. Dabei unterscheidet die Software zwischen “Spiegelei”-förmigen Zellen und “Spinnen”-förmigen Zellen. Dies dient zur blitzschnellen Beurteilung der Qualität der Blutplättchen.

2. Echtzeit-Clusteranalyse

Mittels Fluoreszenz-Mikroskop-Aufnahme identifiziert Thrombotherm Proteincluster unter Berücksichtigung der optischen Beugungserscheinungen. Dies erlaubt eine weitere quantitative Echtzeit-Darstellung der Thrombozyten in der vorliegenden Probe.

3. Echtzeitanalyse der Rezeptoren Mobilität

Thrombotherm erlaubt es nicht nur Standbilder zu analysieren sondern auch Bildsequenzen. Dies ermöglicht es, einzelne Moleküle oder auch Zellcluster in ihren Bewegungsabläufen zu verfolgen.

Da hier eine pixelgenau Darstellung sich als zu ungenau erweist, wird hier auf ein Point-Spread-Model zurückgerechnet um exakte Werte zu erhalten.

Mit dieser völlig neuen Methode der Thrombozyten-Analyse können Labors mit ihrer bestehenden Hardware die Zellmorphologie, die Verdichtung der Oberflächenmarker, wie auch die Mobilität der Zellen bestimmen und in Echtzeit ihren Aktivierungszustand klassifizieren lassen.

Projektausblick:

Neben dem oben dargestellten Einsatzgebiet der Blutanalyse eröffnet die hier entwickelte Methode zahlreiche weitere Anwendungsmöglichkeiten:

  • Klassifizierung von Stammzellen
  • Untersuchung der Wirkung von Pharmazeutika auf Blutzellen
  • Erkennung von Krebszellen

Nutzen auch Sie die Expertise von Catalysts für Ihre Forschung

  • Wir haben langjährige Projekterfahrung mit wissenschaftlichen Partnern
  • Wir sind der größte Individualsoftware-Produzent Oberösterreichs mit internationalen Referenzen
  • Wir arbeiten agil und Test-driven
  • Wir beschleunigen Medizin und verschieben die Grenzen des “ State of the Art”
  • Entwickeln Sie mit uns Cutting-Edge Algorithmen in Ihrem Forschungsgebiet auf Basis echtzeitfähiger Methoden der Zellmikroskopie

Thrombotherm Projektpräsentation
Digital MedTech (AEC Linz) 13.10.2016

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Andreas Hangler

Software Developer

+43 680 2437252

andreas.hangler@catalysts.cc

Profile on Skype

Diese Seite teilen:
Gefällt Ihnen dieses Projekt? Erhalten Sie weitere News darüber:

Andere Projekte

Menü