Yes indeed, Catalysts has moved, but that doesn’t mean we are gone, we just moved to our new website cloudflight.io
together with our partners from Crisp Research to do the same things we used to do in an improved way. We still do great software and we are still great people, more or less only the color has changed except from our domain ūüėČ

First global maps from Sentinel-1

Picture: ©ZAMG/EODC

The Earth Observation Data Centre for water reources monitoring (EODC) publishes the first global maps of Sentinel-1.

Since April 2014 the earth observation satellite “Sentinel-1” from the European Space agency (ESA),¬† orbits the the earth for the first European earth observation programme “Copernicus”. Originally designed as a radar-mission, the Sentinel-1 operates day and night no matter which weather situation comes across to create pictures of the Earth. During its orbits, it creates scientifically valuable data over land and water which can be used to monitor climate changes or natural hazards.

Receiving and processing data for time-critical applications

The vast amounts of data arising can not be stored by regular computers. For this reason the TU-Wien, ZAMG, GeoVille and Catalysts joined in 2014 and created the Earth Observation Data Centre for Water Resources Monitoring (EODC) to store these precious data and make them accessible as fast as possible. The data are collected with a scientific data-access from ESA via the ZAMG and with the help of a 10 gigabit connection, they are transferred from ZAMG to the TU-Wien. After this they can be processed by the TU-Wien via the EODC infrastructure. Only 6.25 hours after their capturing and 2.5 hours after being processed, the data from Sentinel-1 are accessible on the EODC. A tremendous advantage for whole lot of applications like the early warning systems for natural hazards or the maritime traffic security. In the upcoming months the processing speed and data security will be improved siginificantly through a change in the data access of ZAMG’s scientific data portal to a prioritized ESA access. This will make the EODC to one of the top addresses for operative Earth observation satellite applications.

The global view from Sentinel-1

The EODC recently published the first maps of the global reach through Sentinel-1 data. The actual map which was created by the TU-Wien in cooperation with the EODC on 31st August 2015 is compiled by 54.888 vertical (VV) and horizontal (HH) polarized images.

First global reach from Sentinel-1 (ZAMG/EODC)

Web-Links

Previous Post
Die meisten neuen Arbeitsplätze
Next Post
Coding Dojo @ Catalysts Vienna

Related Posts

No results found

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Menu

Erste globale Karten von Sentinel-1

Bild: ©ZAMG/EODC

Das Earth Observation Data Centre for Water Resources Monitoring (EODC) veröffentlicht die ersten globalen Abdeckungskarten von Sentinel-1.

Seit April 2014 umrundet der Erdbeobachtungssatellit Sentinel-1 der Europäischen Weltraumagentur (ESA) als erster Satellit des europäischen Erdbeobachtungsprogrammes Copernicus die Erde. Als Radarmission konzipiert, kann Sentinel-1 wetterunabhängig, tagsüber sowie nachts Bilder der Erde aufnehmen. Während seines Umlaufes nimmt der Satellit wissenschaftlich wertvolle Daten über Land und Wasser auf, die u.a. Anwendungen in den Bereichen Umwelt, Klimawandel und Naturgefahren unterstützen.

Datenempfang und -verarbeitung für zeitkritische Anwendungen

Die enormen Datenmengen, die dabei anfallen, können von gewöhnlichen Computern nicht gespeichert und verarbeitet werden. Zu diesem Zweck gründeten TU Wien, ZAMG, GeoVille, und Catalysts 2014 das Earth Observation Data Centre for Water Resources Monitoring (EODC), das sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, diese wertvollen Daten aufzubewahren und zeitnah zugänglich zu machen. Die Daten werden derzeit über den wissenschaftlichen Datenzugang von der ESA über die ZAMG bezogen und über eine eigene 10 Gigabit Anbindung von der ZAMG zur TU Wien transferiert. Anschließend werden sie mittels der EODC-Infrastruktur an der TU Wien prozessiert. Bereits 6,25 Stunden nach ihrer Aufnahme und 2,5 Stunden nach ihrer Prozessierung sind die Daten von Sentinel-1 am EODC verfügbar – ein enormer Vorteil für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen, wie etwa in der Früherkennung von Naturkatastrophen oder der Seeverkehrssicherheit. In den nächsten Monaten wird durch die Umstellung des Datenzugriffs der ZAMG vom wissenschaftlichen Datenportal zu einem prioritären ESA Zugang die Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit und Datensicherheit weiter verbessert. Dadurch wird das EODC zu einer Top-Adresse für operative Erdbeobachtungs-Satellitenanwendungen.

Der globale Blick von Sentinel-1

Nun veröffentlichte das EODC die ersten Karten der globalen Abdeckung durch Sentinel-1-Daten. Die aktuelle Karte, welche von der TU Wien in Kooperation mit dem EODC am 31. August 2015 erstellt wurde, setzt sich dabei aus insgesamt 54.888 vertikal (VV) und horizontal (HH) polarisierten Aufnahmen zusammen.

Erste globale Abdeckung von Sentinel-1 (Quelle ZAMG/EODC)

Web-Links

Vorheriger Beitrag
Die meisten neuen Arbeitsplätze
Nächster Beitrag
Coding Dojo @ Catalysts Wien

Related Posts

No results found

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus
Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus
Bitte gib eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein.
Sie müssen den Bedingungen zustimmen, um fortzufahren

Menü